Sherlock Holmes

Harriton Theater Company in the Black Box Theater at Harriton High School


William Gillette and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes is a fictional creation of Arthur Conan Doyle. First appearing in print in 1887’s A Study in Scarlet, the character’s popularity became widespread with the first series of short stories in The Strand Magazine, beginning in 1891; additional tales appeared from then until 1927, eventually totaling four novels and 56 short stories. The character of Sherlock Holmes was inspired by the real-life figure of Joseph Bell, a surgeon at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, whom Conan Doyle met in 1877. Like Holmes, Bell was noted for drawing broad conclusions from minute observations.

Recognizing the success of the character, Conan Doyle decided to create a play based on Holmes. The script was later rewritten with the help of American stage actor, William Gillette. Gillette visited Conan Doyle to request permission not only to perform the role but also to rewrite the play.

The play itself drew material from Conan Doyle’s published stories “A Scandal in Bohemia”, “The Final Problem” and A Study in Scarlet, while adding much that was new as well. Doyle was credited as a co-author, even though Gillette actually wrote the play. It premiered on Broadway in 1899, and has seen unending success ever since.

Sherlock Holmes has a profound and lasting effect on mystery writing and popular culture as a whole, with the original tales, as well as thousands written by authors other than Conan Doyle, being adapted into stage and radio plays, television, films, video games, and other media for over one hundred years.

Cast Members

Sherlock Holmes
Ben Newman

Dr. Watson
Jackson Eisner

Madge Larrabee
Nina Gold

James Larrabee
Arrion Johnson

Alice Faulkner
Audrey Sigler

Sidney Prince
Jaspar Albright

Professor Moriarty
Allegra Greenawalt

Julia Green

Jacqueline Kelly

Sammy Biglin

Cliffe Edmonds

McTague Angelina DeMonte

Julia Hoeffner

Tyler Weiss

Andreas Kaiser

Sir Edward Leighton
Patrick McCann

Count von Stalburg
Will Coleman

Gage Klaumenzer

Ashley Sydnor, Wendy Kelly, Cori Mastin

Directed by
Neill Hartley*

Technical Directors
Sean Connolly* with John Bezark*

Musical Direction by
Kat Bowman* with Aidan Todd

Student Directors
Julia McGinty and Dinah Day-Booth

Stage Manager
Willow Kaminski

Costume Design
Kim Fogarty*, Ana-Isabela Navarro, Rowen Murphy-Usher, and AmaRa Pedreros-Montes

Set Design
Sam Gerike and Noah Shelanski

Lighting Design
Jacob Newmark

Publicity Design
Emma Deutsch and Ben Newman

Hair and Makeup Design
Taylor Fagan and Sydney Klein

Sound Design
Ashley Young and Dylan Teaford

Prop Masters
Katie Federman, Sarah Liez, and Homa Mirzai