Awards and Reviews


Harriton Theater Company is a part of the Greater Philadelphia Cappies. The Cappies is a writing and awards program that trains high school theatre and journalism students to be expert writers, critical thinkers, and leaders. Student critics vie to be published in local media outlets by attending productions at other schools and writing critical reviews. Harriton High School’s 2019-2020 Critic Team: Patrick McCann, Benna Trachtenberg, Aiden Kaliner, Oliver Blinman, Maren McDonnell, and Kristiana Filipov.

Our recent production of Peter and the Starcatcher was just reviewed by the Cappies critics. View all reviews from previous productions below.

Peter and the Starcatcher


The Harriton Theater Company has won numerous awards from The Cappies Program, and most recently from the Independence Awards.

Young Frankenstein (2019)

The Cappies:

  • Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Jackson Eisner)
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Musical (Allegra Greenawalt)
  • Outstanding Critic Team (Nina Gold, Allegra Greenawalt, Jacob Newmark, Patrick McCann, Benna Trachtenberg, and Aiden Kaliner)
  • Outstanding Junior Class Critic (Patrick McCann)
  • Outstanding Underclass Critic (Aiden Kaliner)

The Independence Awards:

  • Best Marketing and Publicity (Ben Newman and Emma Deutsch)

Gypsy (2018)

The Cappies:

  • Outstanding Junior Class Critic (Allegra Greenawalt)

Women on a Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (2017)

The Cappies:

  • Best Comedic Actress in a Musical (Nina Gold)

Godspell (2014)

The Cappies:

  • Creativity (Olivia Sun)

The Drowsy Chaperone (2013)

The Cappies:

  • Lighting (Asa Lipton)
  • Costumes (Emma Seymour, Alana Koenig, and Tatiana Fogt)
  • Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Brendan Scanlon)

Jesus Christ Superstar (2012)

The Cappies:

  • Special Effects and/or Technology (Asa Lipton)
  • Best Male Vocalist (Jake Ohlbaum)

Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat (2011)

The Cappies:

  • Costumes (Chelsea Katz, Alana Koenig, and Emma Seymour)
  • Choreography (Ella Cohen, Kasie Patlove, and Sofie Seymour)

Hair (2010)

The Cappies:

  • Costumes (Chelsea Katz)